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Lender Resources available 
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ADFA resources / materials
• TRAINING CHANNEL www.GoToStage.com/Channel/ADFA 

http://www.gotostage.com/Channel/ADFA
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Borrower Resources 

Find a Lender 
with
AR zip code

Gives all program 
Information
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DPA
MOVE-UP

First Mortgage using 
Qualifying Income less 

than $142,000
First Time Home Buyer 

Program
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Move-Up
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Qualifying Income First Mortgage



Established 
guidelines
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Move-Up

All loans must first 
comply with 

applicable industry 
guidelines based on 
the loan type (FHA, 
VA, and USDA) as 

well as Federal and 
State Statutes.

The ADFA guidelines are 
established by the Agency 
and the Master Servicer 

which is ServiSolutions, a 
division of Alabama 

Housing.



Move-Up
program
guidelines

• Borrower(s) must qualify for a First Mortgage Loan 
through an approved ADFA Lender. 

• AUS Findings must pull as Approval/Accept/Eligible
Loan risk cannot be “refer”
No Manual Underwriting allowed.

• No First Time Homebuyer requirement: Must be 
Primary Residence only

• First Lien (Purchase Only) – 30 Year Fixed Mortgage 
Program. Follow First Mortgage agency guidelines:

• FHA, VA, RD, and Freddie Mac HFA Advantage 
Conventional

• First Mortgage Maximum Qualifying Income of 
$142,000

• Non-Occupant Co-Borrowers allowed on
• FHA Loans
• New Freddie Mac-HFA Advantage Conventional
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QUALIFYING INCOME MORTGAGE LOAN



Move-Up
program
guidelines

• Use qualifying income

• Minimum Median Credit Score – 640

• Maximum DTI – 45%

• Borrower Eligibility
• No-First Time Homebuyer Requirement
• No Minimum Arkansas Residency requirement.  
• Must purchase home in Arkansas. 

• Property Eligibility
• Single Detached, Townhomes & Condominiums

• Duplex
• Not allowed with VA & RD
• Allowed with FHA and HFA Advantage

• Manufactured Homes
• Allowed on FHA, VA, RD
• Not Allowed on HFA Advantage
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QUALIFYING INCOME MORTGAGE LOAN



Move-Up
program
guidelines

QUALIFYING INCOME MORTGAGE LOAN

•  Move-Up Fees Allowed:
•  1.75% SRP
•  1% Origination Fee + Standard Origination Fee

(Underwriting Fee, Processing Fee, etc.)
•  ADFA is exempt from ATR-QM
•  Pre-Closing for Move-Up

•  There is not a Pre-Closing Compliance Review 
•  Closing & Funding

•  Originating Lender will fund 1st and 2nd 
mortgages and will close both loans under their 
name. 

•  Post-Closing Review required.
 Follow Move-Up Post-Closing Checklist for 
 documents to upload

•  Purchase Price Limits & Overlays:
Must follow First Mortgage Agency Guidelines.



Move-Up Documents
• Move-Up Post Closing Checklist
• 1st Mortgage Closing Disclosure signed and dated by 

borrower at closing
• AUS Findings with an Approve/Eligible/Accept status 

and a DTI of 45% or lower
• Final Loan Application signed and dated by borrower 

and lender at closing
• Homebuyer Education Certificate completed prior to 

closing (if Conventional and First Time Homebuyer)
• Landlord Certificate completed prior to closing (if 

Conventional and property is a duplex)
• Freddie Mac Home Possible Income & Property 

Eligibility Tool (if Conventional less than 80% AMI)
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Move-Up
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A. Being able to qualify for a first mortgage program: FHA, VA, RD or Conventional 

B. DTI 45% or less

C. Credit Score of 640

INCOME LIMIT: $142,000

PURCHASE PRICE LIMIT: $ Conforming to Products
No Jumbo Loans

Qualifying Income First Mortgage

1

2

3



ADFA First Time Homebuyer Program
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Overview
ADFA issues tax-exempt bonds, the proceeds 
of which are used to offer below-market rate 
mortgage loans to eligible low-to-moderate-
income, first-time homebuyers in Arkansas.

Provides borrowers with lower interest rates 
compared to traditional mortgages.

Can be paired with ADFA’s Down Payment 
Assistance Loan Program - a second 
mortgage with a 10-year term, featuring the 
same low interest rate as the first mortgage.
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Established guidelines
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All loans must 
first comply 

with applicable 
industry 

guidelines 
based on the 

loan type (FHA, 
VA, and USDA) 

as well as 
Federal and 

State Statutes.

The ADFA 
guidelines are 
established by 

the Agency and 
the Master 

Servicer which 
is 

ServiSolutions, 
a division of 

Alabama 
Housing.

HUD establishes 
the maximum 
income limits.

The IRS
establishes the 
maximum sales 

price limits.



Borrower 
Requirements

• Borrowers and non-purchasing spouses, if applicable must either 
be first time homebuyers, honorably discharged military veterans, 
or purchasing a primary residence in a targeted county.

• $425,000 Sales Price Limit

• Note holders and non-purchasing spouse, if applicable income is 
used and varies by county and household size

• 640 minimum credit score

• Maximum Debt to Income 45.00% 

• Must receive an Approve/Eligible/Accept on AUS Findings

No Manual Underwriting

• Must occupy the property within 60 days of closing

• Home businesses cannot exceed 15% or the residence.
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• Have not own primary residence within the last 3 years exempt in 
Targeted Counties. A targeted county is an area of chronic economic 
distress as designated by the IRS. If property is in a targeted county, the 
first-time homebuyer requirement does not apply.

• Homebuyers who owned a manufactured home in the last 3 years that 
was not on a permanent foundation.

• Homebuyers who own rental property, as long as they have not lived in 
the property for the past 3 years

• A separated/divorced buyer who has not occupied the marital home for 
the past 3 years

• Veterans who served in any military branch of the Armed Forces of the 
United States. Veteran’s possibly one-time Exemption with Certificate Of 
Eligibility (COE) and Form DD214.



Disclosure of Income
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Lenders should always ask 
the borrowers and non-

borrowing spouse, if 
applicable, to disclose all 

income (before any 
payroll deductions). 

Current base income includes income from 
primary and part-time jobs and all other 
income that the borrowers receive at the 
time the lender submits loan documents 
for ADFA approval. This information must 

be used for compliance underwriting. 

All income is projected 
for 12 months to 

calculate compliance 
income.



First Time Homebuyer Compliance

FTHB – applies to Owners (title holders) & their spouses

Credit Reports required for Non-Targeted Counties

1 year Federal Tax Transcripts or Signed Federal Tax Returns or a 
combination of both is acceptable for Non-Targeted Counties

Income is borrowers and non-purchasing spouse if applicable. 
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Income requirements:
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Paystub – 2 
consecutive pay 

stubs (Base 
Pay, Bonus, 

Overtime, Auto 
Allowance) 

within 30 days, 
clearly showing 
the pay period 

ending date that 
is within 30 days 
of submission to 

ADFA

VOEs – Written 
or Verbal 

Self employed? 
2 years tax 

returns and a 
current YTD 

P&L - may be 
self-prepared 
(we will not 

subtract a loss 
from their 

income; any 
loses will be 
counted as 

zero)

Spouse income 
- Spouse’s 
income is 

counted even if 
they are not on 

title. Separated?  
Need a legal 
Separation 

Agreement but 
must still sign 

mortgage.

Child Support 
Documentation 
– Court order, 

Custody 
Agreement, or 

OCSE if case is 
in Arkansas. 

Alimony 
Documentation

Award Letters –
Pension, Social 

Security, 
Unemployment, 
Workers Comp, 

VA benefits, 
Government 

Subsidies 
(Section 8, 

AFDC)

Other - Interest, 
Dividends, 

Annuities, Gross 
Rental Income, 

Deferred 
Income, All 

other regularly 
occurring 
additional 

income, Other 
as applicable; 

check programs 
guides



Income Matrix on ADFA Website
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INCOME RESTRICTED: IRS Income restriction by County, and number of household occupants

- Arkansas is determined by 
County Income Limits. 

- Limits can be found on ADFA 
website or in the guidelines. 



• Bradley
• Calhoun

• Chicot
• Clark
• Cleburne

• Columbia
• Conway
• Crawford

• Crittenden
• Cross
• Dallas

• Desha
• Drew
• Jefferson

• Lafayette

• Lee
• Lincoln

• Madison
• Mississippi
• Monroe

• Nevada
• Ouachita
• Perry

• Phillips
• Prairie
• St. Francis

• Scott
• Searcy
• White

• Woodruff
ARKANSAS DEVELOPMENT FINANCE AUTHORITY 22

Targeted 
Counties



Eligible Properties – FHA, VA, USDA
• Single Family Detached 
• Townhomes

• Condominiums 
• Modular Homes 
• Duplexes – when purchasing both sides -

FHA Financing Only
• MUST Occupy 1 side and must be at 

least 5 years old.
• Targeted County duplexes can be 

newer
• Manufactured Homes – follow FHA and 

ServiSolutions guidelines
• Homes can be on no more than 5 acres of 

land

3



Loan Process
requires a

COMPLIANCE REVIEW
• Must be uploaded in 5 days from  

reservation date.

• ADFA Pre-Closing Review
 Checklist & Checklist items must 

be review and approved

• Programs with income limits
 Income must be verified and 

approved prior to closing for all 
note holders and spouses

• Compliance documents can be 
downloaded from the Lender Portal

• Once Loan File has been approved, 
closing documents can be 
downloaded from Lender Portal

Conditional Commitment

• Conditional Commitment is not a 
guarantee of purchase of the 
mortgage(s)

• The DPA awards letter (if 
applicable) will be given at the 
same time the commitment is 
issued. 

• Any changes that may occur 
after Conditional Commitment is 
issued, are required to be sent 
to ADFA for approval and a new 
Conditional Commitment issued
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Move-Up, StartSmart, & DPA requires a 

CLOSING REVIEW
• Programs with all income limits 

 Checklist & Checklist items 
must be review and approved

 Income verification documents 
do not have to submitted

• Each mortgage lender is 
responsible to ensure Borrower (s) 
meet program guidelines along with 
AUS – Approval, or Accept 
Recommendation 

 NO MANUAL UNDERWRITING 
• DPA Closing documents and award 

letters can be downloaded from the 
Lender Portal



Compliance Documents
• StartSmart Pre-Closing Checklist

• AUS Findings with an Approve/Eligible/Accept 
status and a DTI of 45% or lower

NO MANUAL UNDERWRITING

• Final Typed Loan Application

• Recent VOE

• Paystubs within the last 30 days OR self 
employed 2 years taxes and YTD P&L

• DD214 and COE for veterans who need the 
exemption

• Appraisal showing “As Is” 
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• Real Estate Contract

• 1 year Federal Tax Transcripts or Signed Federal Tax 
Returns for Non-Targeted Counties

• Tri-Merge Credit Reports for Non-Targeted Counties

• Exhibit A—Executed Notice to Borrower(s) of Potential 
Recapture Tax

• Exhibit B—Executed Application for Conditional 
Commitment, Certification & Affidavit

• Exhibit C—Executed Disclosure

• Exhibit K—Manufactured Homes only



Closing Documents

• StartSmart Post Closing Checklist

• 1st Mortgage Closing Disclosure signed and dated by 
borrower at closing

• Final Loan Application signed and dated by 
borrower and lender at closing

• 1st mortgage executed at closing with Tax Exempt 
Rider attached

• 1st Note executed at closing 
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• Exhibit E—Executed Borrower’s Closing Affidavit, 
signed by the Borrower(s)

• Exhibit F—Executed Seller’s Affidavit, signed by the 
Seller

• Exhibit G—Executed Lender’s Closing Certificate, 
MUST BE SIGNED BY THE LENDER

• Exhibit P—Executed Notice To Mortgagor For 
Determining If Recapture Tax Is Owed

• County Income Limit Page



Recapture is a potential repayment of a portion of the interest savings that 
the buyer receives from tax-exempt financed mortgage.

Recapture tax may be owed if ALL three of the following occur:

1. Homebuyer sells his/her home prior to the 9th anniversary date, and

2. Makes a net profit when they sell, and

3. Their income exceeds the federal threshold income amount in the 
year they sell (that limit increases 5% every year).

Recapture



What is the Purpose 
of Recapture?
• To retrieve the subsidy from owners 

who receive rapid income increases 
after they purchase their home and, 
as a result, do not need the subsidy 
to remain homeowners only if they 
sell before 9 years.  

• If recapture is owed, ADFA will 
reimburse the borrower upon 
request. 



How to inform the borrower?

Before 
Closing Exhibit A

At Closing
Exhibit P



First Time Homebuyer Program
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BORROWER MUST BE ONE OF THE FOLLOWING: 

A. 1st Time Homebuyer - no primary residence ownership within last 3 years

B. Purchasing home in a Targeted County

C. Be a Veteran or spouse of a Veteran- DD214 and COE for exception

INCOME RESTRICTED: IRS Income restriction by County, and number of 
household occupants

PURCHASE PRICE LIMIT: $425,000

1

2
3



DPA
ADFA Repayable Second Mortgage Program
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ADFA Down Payment Assistance Program
• Assistance Available:  $1,000 - $15,000

• Second Mortgage:  10-year amortization -- Interest Rate will match the first 
mortgage rate

• Fund Qualifications: Minimum Down Payment Required – Closing Cost, 
Principal Reduction & Paid Outside of Closing Cost 
Items (appraisal, etc.)

• Borrowers Eligibility: 
Determined by the 1st Mortgage Requirements

• Property Eligibility: Primary Residence Only
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DPA Documents
• DPA Post-Closing Checklist
• DPA Closing Disclosure signed and dated by 

borrower at closing

• DPA Final Loan Application signed and 
dated by borrower and lender at closing

• DPA mortgage executed at closing
• DPA Note executed at closing with 

endorsement to Arkansas Development 
Finance Authority (ADFA) *page 4*

• Insurance Binder to show ADFA as 2nd

Mortgage, Mortgagee Clause:
ADFA, ISAOA / ATIMA 1 Commerce Way, 
Suite 602, Little Rock, AR 72202
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CONTACT INFORMATION

Robert Arrington

Director of Homeownership & Public Finance

(501) 682-5900

Robert.Arrington@Arkansas.gov

Kyle Putman

Outreach Specialist-Northwest

(479) 719-8742

Kyle.Putman@arkansas.gov

Derrick Rose

Director of Communications

(501) 682-5904

Derrick.Rose@arkansas.gov

Denise Wells

Compliance Manager

(501) 682-5466

Denise.Wells@Arkansas.gov

Leslie Quisenberry

Compliance Underwriter

(501) 682-5930

Leslie.Quisenberry@Arkansas.gov

Whitney Wyble

Compliance Underwriter

(501) 682-5860

Whitney.Wyble@Arkansas.gov

ADFA
1 COMMERCE WAY, SUITE 602

LITTLE ROCK, AR 72202
(501) 682-5900

HTTPS://HOMELOANS.ARKANSAS.GOV
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