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I N T RO

The Arkansas Development Finance 

Authority (ADFA) has created ADFA Down 

Payment Assistance (DPA) to help low to 

moderate income Arkansans in the form 

of a repayable second mortgage loan; 

and who have little of their paychecks left 

after paying for rent, utilities, 

transportation, insurance, and groceries. 
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ADFA  RE S OURCE S  /  MAT E RI ALS

WEBSITE WWW.ADFA.ARKANSAS.GOV
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Sign up for Daily Rate E-mails & 
Announcements

http://www.adfa.arkansas.gov/


ADFA  RE S OURCE S  /  MAT E RI ALS

TRAINING CHANNEL www.GoToStage.com/Channel/ADFA
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http://www.gotostage.com/Channel/ADFA


ADFA PROGRAMS
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DPA

MCC+

MOVE-UP+

FIRST MORTGAGE

REPAYABLE
SUBORDINATE 

MORTGAGE

FEDERAL
TAX CREDIT

+ Available: Stand Alone



MOVE - UP
P ROGRAM 
GUI DE L I NE S

FIRST MORTGAGE LOAN

❑ Borrower(s) must qualify for a First Mortgage Loan by 
obtaining an AUS: Approval / Accept / Eligible

❑ No Manual Underwriting allowed

❑ No First Time Homebuyer requirement: Must be Primary 
Residence only.

❑ First Lien (Purchase Only) – 30 Year Fixed Mortgage 
Program. Follow First Mortgage agency guidelines:

▪ FHA, VA, RD, and Freddie Mac HFA Advantage 
Conventional

❑ First Mortgage Maximum Qualifying Income of $137,000

❑ Non-Occupant Co-Borrowers allowed on:

▪ FHA Loans 

▪ NEW Freddie Mac HFA Advantage Conventional A
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MOVE - UP
P ROGRAM 
GUI DE L I NE S

FIRST MORTGAGE LOAN
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VA RD FHA
HFA 

ADVANTAGE

Traditional Minimum 
Median Credit Score 640
Maximum DTI 45.000%
AUS DU GUS DU/LPA LPA ONLY

Borrower Eligibility No First Time Homebuyer Requirement
No Minimum Arkansas Residency-

Requirement, but Must Purchase Property 
in Arkansas

Property Eligibility Single Detached, Townhomes & 
Condominiums

Duplex not allowed
with VA & RD

Duplex allowed with FHA & 
HFA Advantage

Manufactured Homes allowed 
on FHA, VA, RD.

Manufactured 
Homes not allowed 
on HFA Advantage



MOVE - UP
P ROGRAM 
GUI DE L I NE S

FIRST MORTGAGE LOAN

❑ Move-Up Fees:

▪ 1.75% SRP

▪ 1% Origination Fee + Standard Origination Fee

(Underwriting Fee, Processing Fee, etc.)

❑ ADFA is exempt from ATR-QM

❑ Pre-Closing for Move-Up

▪ There is not a Pre-Closing Compliance Review 

❑ Closing & Funding

▪ Originating Lender will fund 1st and 2nd mortgages and 
will close both loans under their name. 

▪ Post-Closing Review required. Follow Move-Up Post-
Closing Checklist

❑ Purchase Price Limits & Overlays:

Must follow First Mortgage Agency Guidelines.
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DPA
T RAI N I NG
PROGRAM GUIDELINES

PRE-CLOSING

TIMELINE

POST-CLOSING



DPA
P ROGRAM 
GUI DE L I NE S

REPAYABLE SUBORDINATE 
MORTGAGE LOAN
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❑ Borrower(s) could obtain from $15,000 on assistance:
▪ Down Payment, Closing Cost, POC’s & Principal Reduction
(Borrowers can only obtain POCs & up to a maximum of $100 cash 
back at closing, only)

❑ 10-year Amortization Term
❑ Same Interest Rate as the 1st Mortgage 

(Disclose: 4% Late Payment Fee on CD)

❑ No Additional Inspections, required by ADFA

❑ No Household Income Limits
(First Mortgage Conforming Loan Limits and subject to Move-Up Max 

Qualifying Income of less than $137,000)

❑ No Penalty for Pre-Payment
❑ Borrower(s) Requirements:

▪ Ratio Back-End Maximum 45%
Front-End – N / A

❑ No Re-subordination available with DPA
❑ Lenders can charge $50 Application Fee, optional.

No stand alone. Must be paired up with Move-Up.



DPA
P RE - CLO S I N G

REPAYABLE SUBORDINATE 
MORTGAGE LOAN
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❑ Make a Move-Up, 1St Mortgage Loan, and DPA Loan reservation 
must be done 15-10 Days Prior Closing 

(reservation = locking the rate)
❑ Request an Awards Letter by sending an email to ADFA:

▪ Award.Letters@Arkansas.gov
✓ Subject Line: 

ADFA Reservation Number, Borrower’s Last Name
i.e., 100001234, Gutierrez

✓ Must Request at least 48-24 business hours prior closing 
date, or when Final DPA Amount is “known”.

✓ Must Review Loan Reservation, and if needed Modify Loan 
Reservation, prior to be requesting an Awards Letter, such 
as Mortgage Loan Amount, Borrower’s Names, DPA Amount, 
etc. 

❑ ADFA doesn’t required a Pre-Closing review, Compliance Loan 
Package, prior closing on a DPA Loan Reservation 

❑ Print Closing Documents
❑ MERS: Lenders must assign a separated MERS MIN to DPA loans than the 

first mortgage loans.

mailto:Award.Letters@Arkansas.gov


DPA
T I ME L I NE &
P OS T-
CLOSING

APP
A P P L I C A T I O N

Does the Borrower(s) meet DPA 
Program Requirements?

PRE-C
P R E - C L O S I N G

Request Awards Letter:
✓ Make sure all numbers look right

Print Closing Documents

CLOSING
Don’t forget to Endorse the DPA 
Note to ADFA. Once Endorsed, 
scan a copy of it to ADFA. 
✓ Original copy goes to ServiSolutions.

POST-C
P O S T - C L O S I N G

UPLOAD closing package based on 
DPA Post-Closing Checklist to 
ADFA. All documents!

MERS
T R A N S F E R

MERS TRANSFER once a purchase date has 

been assigned by ServiSolutions!

COMBO TOS/TOB
Servicer: ADFA – ID 1016382
Sub-Servicer: ServiSolutions – ID 
1002536
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THANK YOU

TRAINING CHANNEL: 

www.GoToStage.com/Channel/ADFA
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LENDER QUESTIONS

Lender.Questions@Arkansas.gov

mailto:Lender.Questions@Arkansas.gov

