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Arkansas.gov The StartSmart Loan Program

First Time Homebuyer Program

PROGRAM OVERVIEW

ADFA issues tax-exempt bonds, the proceeds of which are used to
offer below-market rate mortgage loans to eligible low-to-
moderate income, first time homebuyers in Arkansas.

Provides borrowers with lower interest rates compared to
traditional mortgages.

Can be paired with ADFA’s Down Payment Assistance Loan
Program - a second mortgage with a 10-year term, featuring the

| same low interest rate as the first mortgage.
| startSmart

by ADFA
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Arkansas.gov The StartSmart Loan Program

First Time Homebuyer Program

ESTABLISHED GUIDELINES

All loans must first comply with applicable industry guidelines based

on the loan type (FHA, VA, and USDA) as well as Federal and State
Statutes.

ADFA guidelines are established by the Agency and the Master
Servicer which is ServiSolutions, a division of Alabama Housing.

HUD establishes the maximum income limits
The IRS establishes the maximum sales price limits
startSmart

by ADFA
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Borrower
Requirements

Borrowers and non-purchasing spouses (if applicable) must
either be first time homebuyers, honorably discharged military
veterans, or purchasing a primary residence in a targeted
county.

$425,000 Sales Price Limit

Note holders and spouse (if applicable) is used and varies by
county and household size

640 minimum credit score
Maximum Debt to Income 45.00%
Must receive an Approve/Eligible/Accept on AUS Findings

© NO MANUAL UNDERWRITING

Must occupy the property within 60 days of closing. Home
businesses cannot exceed 15% of residence.
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Arkansas.gov Borrower

Qualifications /| Exemptions

e Not owned primary residence within the last 3 years not
applicable in targeted counties (economically disadvantaged
areq).

e Homebuyers who owned a manufactured home in the last 3
years, NOT on a permanent foundation.

e Homebuyers who own rental property, as long as they have NOT
lived in the property for the past 3 years

e A separated/divorced homebuyer, NOT occupied the marital
home for the past 3 years

e Veteran’'s may request a one-time Exemption. Requires Form
DD214 and a Certificate Of Eligibility (COE)

‘ startSmart
by ADFA
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Lenders should always ask
the borrower and non

purchasing spouse, if
applicable, to disclose all
income (before any payroll
deductions).

by ADFA

Current base income includes income
from primary and part-time jobs and
all other income that the borrowers
receive at the time the lender submits
loan documents for ADFA approval.
This information must be used for
compliance underwriting.

Allincome is projected for 12
months to calculate
compliance income.
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First Time Homebuyer
Compliance

FTHB — applies to Owners (title holders) & their spouses

Credit Reports required for Non-Targeted Counties

1 year Federal Tax Transcripts or Signed Federal Tax

Returns or a combination of both is acceptable for Non-
Targeted Counties

Borrower’s income and non-purchasing spouse (if

Homeloans.
applicable) Arkansas.gov
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Paystub — two consecutive pay stubs within
30 days, clearly showing the pay period
ending date. The pay period ending date
must be within 30 days of submission to
ADFA for Approval

Spouse income is counted even if they are
not on the title. Separated? Need a legal
Separation Agreement but must still sign
mortgage.

VOEs — Written or Verbal

Self employed? 2 years tax returns and a
current YTD P&L - may be self-prepared (we
will not subtract a loss from their income;
any loses will be counted as zero)

INCOME VERIFICATION

Award Letters — Pension, Social Security,
Unemployment, Workers Comp, VA Benefits,
Government Subsidies (Section 8, AFDC).

Child Support Documentation — court order,
custody agreement, or OCSE if case is In
Arkansas.

Other - Interest, Dividends, Annuities, Gross
Rental Income, Deferred Income, All other
regularly occurring additional income, Other
as applicable; check program guides.

Homeloans.
Arkansas.gov
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INCOME RESTRICTED: IRS Income restriction by County, and number of household occupants

ARKANSAS DEVELOPMENT FINANCE AUTHORITY PAGE 1 OF 2.
ARKANSAS DEVELOPMENT FINANCE AUTHOR!T"::AGE e INCOME LIMITS BY COUNTY AND HOUSEHOLD SIZE,
N= NON-TARGETED
— PURCHASE PRICE LIMIT - $425,000
StartSmart Income Limits T=TARGETED
2023 INCOME LIMITS
INCOME LIMITS BY COUNTY AND HOUSEHOLD SIZE, ”N” . ":}'—'"T" "“USEH%'}DE ;;%"‘E“BERS "'“USE“‘;';g ;"60
onnson )
N= NON-TARGETED ' :
AT ARGETED PURCHASE PRICE LIMIT - $425,000 T Lafayette $89,040 $103,880 Ar ka nNsas IS
N Lawrence $76,080 $88,760
T Lee $89,040 $103,880 °
NIT COUNTY HOUSEHOLD 1-2 MEMBERS HOUSEHOLD 3 OR MORE T Lincoln $89,040 $103,880 d etermin ed by
N Arkansas $77,160 $90,020 : t'ﬁ'e River 23;'333 ::g-;gg
N Ashley $76,080 $88,760 ogan : . m
N Baxter $76,05'U $38,?50 M LOI'I[?I(E' $35,590 5-93,,429 Co u nty I n co e
N Benton $88,600 $101,890 T Madison $106,320 $124,040 o o
N Boone 576,440 589,120 N Marion $76,080 588,760 Limits, not census-
T Bradley $80,040 $103,880 N M!ller - 586,520 $100,936
T Calhoun $89,040 $103,880 T Mississippi $89,040 $103,880
N Carroll $79,920 $93,240 T Monroe $89,040 $103,880 tract.
T Chicat $89,040 $103,880 N Montgomery $76,080 $88,760
T Clark $89,040 $103,880 T Nevada $89,040 $103,880
N Clay $76,080 $88,760 N Newton $76,440 $89,180
T Cleburne $89,040 $103,880 T Ouachita $89,040 $103,880 . .
N Cleveland 76,440 $89,180 T Perry $99,600 $116,200 -
T Columbia $89,040 $103,880 T Phillips $89,040 $103,880 Ll m |tS Can be
T Conway $89,040 $103,880 N Pike $76,440 $89,180 f d D F
N Craighead $83,760 $97,720 M Poinsett $76,080 $88,760 A A
T Crawford $89,040 $103,880 N Polk $76,080 $88,760 oun on
T Crittenden $97,200 $113,400 N Pope $76,800 $89,600 . °
T Grons $80,040 $103,880 ' Prairie $89.040 $103,880 website or in the
T Dallas $89,040 $103,880 N Pulaski $85,590 $98,429
T Desha $89,040 %103,880 N Randolph $76,080 $88,760 ° o
T Drew $89,040 $103,880 N Saline $76,080 $88,760 g Ul d e I ines.
N Faulkner $85,590 $98,429 T Scott $89,040 $103,880
N Franklin $76,440 $89,180 T Searcy $89,040 $103,880
N Fulton $76,080 $88,760 N Sebastian $77,040 $89,880
N Garland $76,800 $89,600 N Sevier $77,760 590,720 b h
N Grant $87,030 $100,085 N Sharp $76,080 $88,760 -
N Greene §$78,240 391,280 T St. Francis $89,040 $103,880 Set y t e I RS
N Hempstead $76,440 589,180 N Stone $76,080 $88,760
N Hot Spring $76,440 $89,180 N Union $79,200 $92,400
N Howard $76,080 $88,760 N Van Buren $76,080 $88,760
N Independence $76,920 $89 740 N Washington $88,600 £101,890
N lzard $76,080 588,760 T White $89,040 $103,880
N Jackson $76,080 $88,760 T Woodruff $89,040 $103,880
T Jefferson $$9,040 $1 US,E—SB N Yell $?E,440 $89,1ﬂﬂ
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Bradley
Calhoun
Chicot
Clark
Cleburne
Columbia
Conway
Crawford
Crittenden
Cross
Dallas
Desha
Drew
Jefferson
Lafayette

Lee
Lincoln
Madison
Mississippi
Monroe
Nevada
Ouachita
Perry
Phillips
Prairie

St. Francis
Scott
Searcy
White
Woodruff

Homeloans.
Arkansas.gov
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ELIGIBLE PROPERTIES -

FHA, VA, USDA

Single Family Detached
Townhomes
Condominiums
Modular Homes
Duplexes - when purchasing both sides -
FHA Financing Only
o Must occupy 1side and must be at
least 5 years old
o Targeted County duplexes can be
newer
Manufactured Homes - follow FHA
guidelines
Homes can be on no more than 5 acres
of land



StartSmart Compliance & Closing Process

by ADFA STARTSMART
CLOSING REVIEW
COMPLIANCE REVIEW CONDITIONAL COMMITMENT e Programs with qualifying income
Must be uploaded in 5 days e Conditional Commitment is not a lITléShecinst 2 Checklist items must be
from the reservation date! guarantee of purchase of the reviewed and approved
SOTEWET Ene) Setss [eeme IgRGEE) o Income verification documents do
must be verified and approved e The DPA awards letter (if not have to submitted
prior closing applicable) will be given at the o Each mortgage lender is
ADFA Pre-Closing Review same time the commitment is responsible to ensure Borrower (s)
o Checklist & Checklist items issued. meet program guidelines along
mMust be reviewed and e Any changes that may occur with AUS — Approval, or Accept
approved after Conditional Commitment Recommendation
Once Loan File has been is issued, are required to be sent = NO MANUAL UNDERWRITING
approved, closing documents to ADFA for approval and anew . pDpA closing documents and award
and award letters can be Condidional Commitment letters can be downloaded from the
downloaded from Lender Portal issued. | ender Portal.

Once loan is closed, closing
documents will be required to be
submitted for review.

Homeloans.
Arkansas.gov



startSmart COM PLI NCE

DOCUMENTS

e StartSmart Pre-Closing Checklist e 1year Federal Tax Transcripts or Signed Federal Tax
e AUS Findings with an Approve/Eligible/Accept status  Returns for Non-Targeted Counties
and a DTI of 45% or lower e Tri-Merge Credit Reports for Non-Targeted Counties

NO MANUAL UNDERWRITING Exhibit A—Executed Notice to Borrower(s) of Potential
e Final Typed Loan Application Recapture Tax
e Recent VOE Exhibit B—Executed Application for Conditional
e Paystubs within the last 30 days Commitment, Certification & Affidavit
Exhibit C—Executed Disclosure
Exhibit K—Manufactured Homes only

e self employed 2 years taxes and YTD P&L

e DD214 and COE for veterans who need the
exemption

e Appraisal

e Real Estate Contract

Homeloans.
Arkansas.gov
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StartSmart Post Closing Checklist ~———

1st Mortgage Closing Disclosure signed and dated by —_— P

borrower at closing -

Final Loan Application signed and dated by borrower ClOSI ng D Ocu m e nts
and lender at closing

1st mortgage executed at closing with Rider attached

1st Note executed at closing

Warranty Deed e Exhibit G—Executed Lender's Closing Certificate, MUST
Exhibit E—Executed Borrower’s Closing Affidavit, signed BE SIGNED BY THE LENDER

by the Borrower(s) e Exhibit P—Executed Notice To Mortgagor For

Exhibit F—Executed Seller's Affidavit, signed by the Dierimlining [f Recgjpiure Tex(s Owee

Seller e County Income Limit Page

Homeloans.
Arkansas.gov



Recapture
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Recapture is a potential repayment of a portion of the
iInterest savings that the buyer receives from tax-exempt
financed mortgage.

Recapture tax may be owed if ALL three of the following
ocCcCur:

1.Homebuyer sells his/her home prior to the 9th
anniversary date, and

2.Makes a net profit when they sell, and

3.Their income exceeds the federal threshold income
amount in the year they sell (that limit increases 5%

every year).



by ADFA

WHAT IS THE PURPOSE OF RECAPTURE?

e To retrieve the subsidy from owners who receive
rapid income increases after they purchase their

home and, as a result, do not need the subsidy to
remain homeowners.

e If recapture is owed, ADFA will

reimburse the borrower upon
request!

Recapture

HOW is It paid?

With Federal Tax payment in the

filing year of the sale of the
residence.

Homeloans.
1] Arkansas.gov




EXHIBIT A

Prior to closing.

EXHIBITP

At closing.




Down Payment
Assistance (DPA)

ADFA repayable second
mortgage program




ADFA Down Payment _ —
Assistance Program -

e Assistance Available: S1,000 - S15,000

« Second Mortgage: 10-year amortization -- Interest
Rate will match the first mortgage rate

» Fund Qualifications: Minimum Down Payment
Required - Closing Cost, Principal Reduction & Paid
Outside of Closing Cost Items (appraisal, etc.)

« Borrowers Eligibility: Determined by the 1st
Mortgage Requirements

e Property Eligibility: Primary Residence Only

Homeloans.
Arkansas.gov
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 DPA Post-Closing Checklist

 DPA Closing Disclosure signed and dated by borrower at
closing

 DPA Final Loan Application signed and dated by borrower and
lender at closing

« DPA mortgage executed at closing

« DPA Note executed at closing with endorsement (page 4).

e Insurance Binder to show ADFA as 2nd Mortgage, Mortgagee
Clause:

o ADFA, ISAOA / ATIMA 1 Commerce Way, Suite 602, Little
Rock, AR 72202
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ADFA CONTACT INFORMATION

Robert Arrington Denise Wells
Director of Homeownership & Public Finance Compliance Manager
501.682.5900 501.682.5466
robert.arrington@arkansas.gov denise.wells@arkansas.gov

Leslie Quisenberry

Derrick Rose Compliance Underwriter
Director of Communications 501.682.5930
501.682.5904 leslie.quisenberry@arkansas.gov
derrick.rose@arkansas.gov

Whitney Wyble
Kyle Putman Compliance Underwriter
Outreach Specialist 501.682.5860
479.719.8742 whitney.wyble@arkansas.gov

kyle.putman@arkansas.gov

lender.questions@arkansas.gov

Arkansas Development Fiinance Authority
1 Commerce Way, Suite 602

Little Rock, AR 72202

501-682-5900

https://adfa.arkansas.gov
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Just Join
Our Service!

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet,
consectetur adipiscing elit.
Suspendisse molestie massa ac odio

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur | euismod, sit amet rutrum sapien
adipiscing elit. Suspendisse molestie | .
Massa ac odio euismod, sit amet rutrum

sapien dignissim. Nulla in sollicitudin

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet,
consectetur adipiscing elit.
Suspendisse molestie massa ac odio
euismod, sit amet rutrum sapien

www.reallygreatsite.com = 09-10

B A A AR DR ——"
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Thank You
For Attention

WWW.REALLYGREATSITE.COM

www.reallygreatsite.com
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Proud New
Real Estate

REAL ESTATE MARKET

> MODERN & CASUAL CONCEPT

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur
adipiscing elit. Suspendisse molestie massa ac
odio euismod, sit amet rutrum sapien

> SOLUTION YOUR HOME

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur
adipiscing elit. Suspendisse molestie massa ac
odio euismod, sit amet rutrum sapien

www.reallygreatsite.com




Fradel and I
Spies Co

Portfolio Real Estate

REAL ESTATE TRENDS IN 2023

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur
adipiscing elit. Suspendisse molestie massa
ac odio euismod, sit amet rutrum sapien

PROPERTY IRRESISTIBLE TO BUYERS

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur
adipiscing elit. Suspendisse molestie massa ac
odio euismod, sit amet rutrum sapien
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Arkansas.gov TO QUALIFY

BORROWER MUST BE ONE OF THE FOLLOWING

A. Firsttime homebuyer (no primary residence ownership within last three years
B. Purchasing home in a “Targeted County”
C. Be a Veteran or spouse of a Veteran

Criteria for Eligibility:

A. The applicant must not have owned a primary residence
within the past three years.

B. If the property is in an area of chronic economic distress as
determined by the IRS, the first-time homebuyer requirement
will be waived. These locations are known as “Targeted
Counties”.

C. Veterans who have served in any branch of the US Armed
Forces are also eligible for the program, but must provide

SIa r[s m a ": verification in the form of a and

by ADFA
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StartSmart Program E1l" Arkansas.gov
additional exemptions

e Owned a mobile home in the last 3 years that was NOTon a
permanent foundation.

e Owned rental property, but NOT lived in the property for the
past 3 years.

e Separated or divorced, but NOT occupied the marital home for
the past 3 years.

e Buying a home in a Targeted County (economically
disadvantaged area)

e Veterans who served in any military branch of the Armed
Forces of the United States may get a single, one time,
exemption. Single exemption requires Form DD214 and a COE
for verification

by ADFA




